Langmuir Student Oral Presentation Award

Selections for the Langmuir Graduate Student Oral Presentation Award Session

Alicia Boymelgreen (Technion)

“Novel propulsion of active colloids by self-induced field gradients with potential for cargo transport”

Anish Shenoy (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)  

“Stokes trap for multiplexed particle manipulation and assembly using fluidics”

Archit Dani (City University of New York)                                   

“Droplet Locomotion Over Oil Immersed Superhydrophobic Surfaces”

Jeongeun Shin (University of Minnesota)                

“Light-Triggered Contents Release from Liposomes In a Two-Photon Microscope”

Joong Hwan Bahng (university of Michigan)                             

“Anomalous Dispersion of ‘Hedgehog’ Particles”

Michelle Calabrese (University of Delaware)                            

“Using advanced rheological and neutron scattering techniques to determine signatures of branching in wormlike micelles (WLMs)”

Neil Lin (Cornell University)                                 

“Visualizing Stress by Watching Particles Dance: Directly measuring particle-level stresses in colloidal materials”

Tamas Oncsik  (University of Geneva)                     

“Ion-specificity in particle aggregation studied by AFM colloidal probe and light scattering techniques: Towards an extended Hofmeister series”

Vishnu Srehst   (MIT)                

“Manipulating Colloidal Self-Assembly using Stimuli-Responsive Surfactants”

Xiao Su  (MIT)                              

“Design of redox responsive electrochemical interfaces for molecular recognition and advanced separation processes”

Call for Graduate Student Nominations

Deadline extended to March 28

What is it ?

The 90th Colloid and Surface Science Symposium will feature awards for best graduate student oral presentations, sponsored by the ACS journal Langmuir and the ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry. These awards aim to recognize excellence in research as manifested in oral presentations. 

There are two levels of awards.  First, level is being selected as one of ten presenters for the special symposium “Langmuir Graduate Student Awards Session”. Second level is being selected from among these ten presenters for top three prizes.

All ten selected students will receive cash awards of $250 each. In addition, the top three prize winners will receive additional cash awards of $750, $500 and $250, respectively.

Who is eligible?

Any student who is past the first year of graduate study and who will be enrolled in graduate school at the time of the Symposium in June is eligible.

What are selection considerations?

The ten participants for the special oral session will be selected by a symposium committee based upon: (i) a long abstract of two pages, (ii) a 2-page CV, and (iii) a recommendation letter from the PhD advisor. The selection criteria include:

a. Timeliness and relevance to the field of Colloid and Surface Science.

b. Clarity in statement of the problem and research goals

c. Soundness of the approach.

d. Actual accomplishments in research

What should you do to participate?

(i) Submit a regular short abstract to the thematic symposium of your interest by the posted deadline, and register for the meeting as you would normally do to participate in the CSSS.  Remember that if you are not selected for the award session, you will still be scheduled to present in the topical symposium to which you are submitting the abstract.

(ii) Submit the award application before March 28, 2016. Send the application in a single PDF file including: (a) a long abstract of two pages, (b) a 2-page CV including your complete contact information, and (c) a recommendation letter from the PhD advisor.  Email this pdf application to

How will the ten participants for the oral award session be selected?

The ten presenters from among all applicants will be selected by a symposium committee based on a review of the application packages submitted and using the criteria stipulated above.  The selected presenters in the awards session will be notified by April 15, 2016 of their selection.  The students not selected for the award session will also be notified and their presentations will be scheduled as part of the regular topical symposium selected by them during abstracts submission.

How will the top three winners will be selected?

The top three prize winners will be selected by a panel of three judges at the oral session.

Recognition of Award Winners

Introduction of all ten selected students including the three final winners will be done at the Symposium Banquet on June 7, 2016.


2016_csss_langmuir_student_oral_presentation_awards_8_march_2016.pdf128 KB